The Earth: One group’s love


This week’s WordPress Photo Challenge asks us to “…share your vision of our magnificent Earth through your lens.”

I went with what is probably a little unusual in some eyes.

This planet we call home has many cultures, and today I attended an event that highlighted the Hare Krishna’s celebration of life on this earth. The Festival of the Chariots took place here in Brisbane, Australia.  The Festival is sometimes referred to as Ratha Yatra, literally meaning Chariot Festival. Ratha Yatra originated 5,000 years ago in India, on the East Coast state of Orissa, in a city called Jagannatha Puri.

The canopied chariot is decorated with flowers and balloons and pulled with long, thick ropes by hundreds of people. The chariot is accompanied by a procession of devotees who are ecstatically dancing and chanting the Lord’s Holy Names:

Hare Krishna, Hare Krishna, Krishna Krishna, Hare Hare
Hare Rama, Hare Rama, Rama Rama, Hare Hare.

It was a first time attendance for me and I was excited to see another culture’s celebration.  The colours of the participants’ outfits combined with those of the chariot made for a magnificent display.  Add to that the sounds and the joyful dancing, and I was stunned like so many around me.

Here was a group preaching love and acceptance to all on earth. A perfect subject for this week’s challenge. It was a photographer’s dream and I am still working my way through over 400 photos I took in the space of a couple of hours. I’m sure others will understand how that occurred.  🙂

Here are some of my favourite photos from the event. For a better view, click on one.

Enjoy!

15 thoughts on “The Earth: One group’s love

  1. Pingback: The Earth: One group’s love — Do You See What I See?? – wolf4915

  2. Pingback: Earth (Burst) | What's (in) the picture?

Please leave a Reply

