Weekly Photo Challenge: Symbol


This week’s WordPress photo challenge is: Symbol, and these are my offerings.

I thought about symbols in my current location (Brisbane, Australia); in other places around the world I have lived in or visited.  So many to choose from that are symbols of certain times of my life.  Given that this is a photography blog, what better symbols to have than some icons of Sydney, Australia — all taken when I attended a sound and light festival in 2014 (the Vivid Festival).

Sydney Opera House Sydney Harbour BridgeIMG_2838-2Opera House - lit up by Vivid FestivalThe photo from above was a lucky one I took on a flight north to Brisbane. It’s unusual to be able to get such a clear shot, so I am thankful I was on that flight.

The Harbour Bridge opened in 1932, and is nicknamed “The Coathanger” because of its arch-based design.  It was the world’s widest long-span bridge, at 48.8 m (160 ft) wide, until construction of the new Port Mann Bridge in Vancouver was completed in 2012.

The Opera House (opened in 1973) has been identified as one of the 20th century’s most distinctive buildings and one of the most famous performing arts centres in the world. It became a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2007.

Both of these buildings are iconic symbols of Australia.

17 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Symbol

  1. Pingback: birth |100 Emotions (a sketching challenge) | Ramisa the Authoress

  2. Pingback: birth |100 Emotions (a sketching challenge) | Ramisa the Authoress

  3. These are great photos of one of the world’s great iconic sites. Your really couldn’t do much better than the Sidney Opera House and Harbour Bridge. It’s right up there with the Eiffel Tower and the Statue of Liberty as one of the world’s most recognizable places. All the photos are interesting, but I think the aerial one is my favorite.

    Like

    • Yes, the aerial one was a result of being in the right seat on the plane, having my camera at the ready, and the weather being perfect. I had a short period of time to snap it. It’s one of my favorites. Thanks so much for commenting. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • No, I haven’t altered the Opera House shot — that was during the Vivid Festival when major buildings around Sydney are bathed in laser-light. It’s an amazing experience.

      Like

  4. Pingback: Old Volcano | litadoolan

Please leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.